Turkey discusses post-virus plan with 4 other nations

Ankara: Foreign ministers of Mexico, Indonesia, South Korea, Turkey and Australia hold virtual meeting

Foreign ministers from Mexico, Indonesia, South Korea, Turkey and Australia on Friday held a meeting via videoconferencing to discuss ways to combat the novel coronavirus.

The five countries form an informal bloc MIKTA.

In a tweet, Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlut Cavusoglu said: “Held 17th Meeting of MIKTA Ministers of Foreign Affairs via videoconference today. Exchanged views on how to cope better with challenges caused by COVID-19 pandemic. Discussed ways to further develop the MIKTA cooperation in the normalisation period.”

Mexico’s Marcelo Ebrard, Indonesia’s Retno L. P. Marsudi, South Korea’s Kang Kyung-wha and Australia’s Marisa Payne attended the conference.

After emerging in China last December, COVID-19, the disease caused by the virus, has infected 13.81 million people worldwide, causing more than 590,200 deaths, according to US-based Johns Hopkins University.

A vast majority, more than 7.72 million have gone on to make a recovery.

Anadolu / Balkantimes.press

Napomena o autorskim pravima: Dozvoljeno preuzimanje sadržaja isključivo uz navođenje linka prema stranici našeg portala sa koje je sadržaj preuzet. Stavovi izraženi u ovom tekstu autorovi su i ne odražavaju nužno uredničku politiku The Balkantimes Press.

Copyright Notice: It is allowed to download the content only by providing a link to the page of our portal from which the content was downloaded. The views expressed in this text are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the editorial policies of The Balkantimes Press.

Contact Us